Your Student Leadership Team

Name: Jess Keane (President)jess keane

Hometown: Corona, CA

Why you became a part of GB: I became a part of GB to fulfill the ache that I had to travel to Africa, I never would’ve guessed that it would be such an influential moment in my life and really change the way I view the world.

Something unique about you: I’m six ft tall and I’ve never played volleyball competitively.

Why I’m the funniest person I know: this question is stressing me out…way too much pressure. but i guess because I have no filter and I say weird things

Name: Brittany Drutman (Vice President)zzzbdrut

Hometown: Corona, CA

Something unique about you: I consider myself to have three identities: Brittany, Honeybee (UniCamp), and Ama (Ghanaian name). 🙂

Why you became a part of global brigades: I am a member of Global Brigades because I choose to not be a part of my generation’s elected ignorance. I want to understand the problems that our world is facing and in order to do that, you have to see it and experience it. Global Brigades is a student-run MOVEMENT doing sustainable development work and there is nothing else I’d rather be spending my time as an undergraduate doing than the work that we do on these brigades.

Why you’re the funniest person you know: I know the cheesiest jokes and the best comebacks you’ll ever hear in your lifetime!

Name: Julia Chambers (Financial Coordinator)julia chambers

Hometown: San Francisco, CA

Something unique about you: I still have two baby teeth! (Weird I know…)

Why you became a part of global brigades: Well what hooked me was that a lot of groups on campus focus on global health, but GB combines 9 different disciplines. Even though my focus is medical, the holistic approach that also gives communities the tools to be self-sustaining just made sense to me. And then what kept me around was my first brigade to Honduras! I loved everyday I was there and wished the trip could have been longer. It was the highlight of my freshman year and I can’t wait to go on as many trips as possible in the future!  

Why you’re the funniest person you know: I take things way too seriously!

Name: Daniel Kadden (Social Communications Coordinator)

ghana2

Hometown: San Diego, CA

Something unique about you: I can bend both of my pinky fingers all the way backward.

Why you became a part of global brigades: One of my friends went on a brigade and she had such a wonderful experience so I wanted to go and have similar experiences.  After going on a brigade, I felt embarrassed at the affluence we take for granted everyday so I wanted to become a more integral part of Global Brigades to help raise the standards of living both in the countries we work in and in our own community.

Why you’re the funniest person you know: I am half Kristin Wiig, half Andy Samberg, half Maya Rudolph, and half Seth Rogen and #letsbereal it doesn’t get much funnier than that.

Name: Amit Pandya (Social Communications Coordinator)amit

Hometown: Nowhere really. I move around.

Something unique about you: I sing!

Why you became a part of global brigades:I absolutely love what we do. Simple as that!

Why you’re the funniest person you know: I am not the funniest person I know, although I’d like to be… But I know some pretty funny people and the fact that I can hang with them must mean I have potential.

Name: Krishan Patel (Donations Coordinator)krishan patel

Hometown: Calabasas, CA

Something unique about you: I’m a north campus major and a south campus major. Say whaaaat?!

Why you became a part of global brigades: I have always loved to travel, and I appreciate the organization’s goal of creating sustainability in the communities we serve. Also, it was 0 week of my freshman year…I just wanted friends

Why you’re the funniest person you know: Because people find me funny.

Name: Hi, I’m Kritika Misra (Donations Coordinator)kritika misra

Hometown: Palmdale, CA

Something unique about you: I can say the alphabet backwards.

Why you became a part of global brigades: I fell in love on my first brigade to Honduras. The beauty of the brigades lies in the holistic approach to help various communities Knowing the impact we have upon the people’s lives and seeing how grateful they are to receive the assistance is heartwarming.

Why you’re the funniest person you know: I make everyone laugh all the time (especially myself).

Name: Sahana Kribakaran (Medicine Donations Coordinator)sahana

Hometown: Fremont, CA

Something unique about you: I like to eat peanut butter with my cereal and dip ice cream cones in my black coffee.

Why you became a part of global brigades: I wanted to see the world – I knew there was more out there than everyday life at UCLA. As typical as it sounds, I genuinely wanted to make a difference in peoples’ lives and I knew Global Brigades would provide me that opportunity as its whole mission is to empower students!

Why you’re the funniest person you know: Majority of things that come out of my mouth don’t make sense. I entertain myself.

Name: Seema Keswani (Medicine Donations Coordinator)seema

Hometown: Alamo, CA

Something unique about me: I never crawled, I just started walking & I am obsessed with the color purple

Why you became part of Global Brigades: I joined GB because I wanted to be part of an organization that was focused on helping communities become self-sustainable. I wanted to be part of a club that focused on giving people in need the resources to sustain themselves, with the ultimate goal of making becoming independent. Most importantly though, I joined GB because of the experience and the relationships that I got to develop both within the club and with the communities that we serve. As much as I have given to the communities, they have without a doubt given me more in return.

Why you are the funniest person you know: I pretend I’m Daniel Kadden basically all the time.

Leave a Reply

